That Time We Biked 100 Miles

IMG_4696Memorial Day Weekend was fast approaching and we didn’t have any plans. We were looking into camping, but since it was so late in the game all of the nearby campsites were already reserved. Then, we both had the idea to go on a bike trip along the C&O Canal Trail! We spent the week making frequent trips to REI to gather everything we needed including racks, panniers, and of course padded shorts. We started our journey in Hancock, MD, with a goal of 40 miles each day.IMG_4710Lemme tell you, this was the first time I’ve ever ridden more than 6 miles and oo baby was I feeling it. At one point I didn’t think I was going to make it to our campsite. Luckily the C&O Canal Trail has sites around every 4 miles, so you can make it to one when you’re dying. Each site had a water pump and a portapotty too! This picture shows how happy I was to finally be off the bike and at my destination! Our meal of hotdogs, baked beans, and wine was just what the doctor ordered.IMG_4712The next AM my legs were soreeeee and I was scared I wouldn’t make it a full 40 miles and we wouldn’t make it back to our car in time. We ended up riding 30ish miles and visited a nearby town for lunch before returning to another campsite.IMG_4793 Words can’t describe how happy we were to make it back to the car after a 100 mile weekend of biking and camping! I think we were most excited about putting on the clean set of clothes we stashed in the car.IMG_4800Right after this picture we sped to the gas station and had the most delicious king size Reese’s Nutrageous bar. We deserved it. As exhausting as this trip was, it was so much fun! The trail was essentially flat the entire way and we even saw a few snakes. Definitely a good lil last minute weekend trip!

2 thoughts on “That Time We Biked 100 Miles

  1. My husband and I want to do a camping-by-bike trip too. There’s something satisfying about being self-sufficient, nostalgic maybe. Cycling is just like anything, it just takes practice. Now that 6 miles won’t seem so tough!

    • Yes! You definitely should do it! After hauling all of your food and gear on your bike for a few days, your bike seems weightless when you ride it the next time. The trip showed me i can actually do longer rides than I thought I could!

Leave a Reply

